Are you looking for my non-technical blog?

This is now my technical-only blog, my non-technical blog is here.

22 December 2005

Linux Run Levels

Like most of the UNIX like operating systems, linux has different Run Levels, one for running as a single user, one for multi-user, may be one for GUI, even one for reboot and another one for halt. In the file "/etc/inittab" you can find the default Run Level, eg:
You can find there also the different Run Levels on your system and which is which. In Ubuntu for example it will look like this:
# /etc/init.d executes the S and K scripts upon change # of runlevel. # # Runlevel 0 is halt. # Runlevel 1 is single-user. # Runlevels 2-5 are multi-user. # Runlevel 6 is reboot.
Then in the "/etc" you may find different folders "rc1.d", "rc2.d", and so on. Each folder contains the different scripts to be executed whenver the system enters its equivalent Run Level. Tags: , ,

No comments:

Post a Comment